Meet the President – Katie Quakenbush Spiegel

Katie Quackenbush Spiegel (she/her/hers) is Senior Director, Integrated Marketing and Communications within Mass General Hospital’s development office and a freelance writer and communications consultant to a range of non-profits across New England and greater New York City. Prior to her role at MGH, Katie was Executive Director of Special Events at Beth Israel Lahey Health (BILH) and Director of Philanthropy Communications and Donor Relations at New England Baptist Hospital, a BILH hospital. Katie has also held external relations, writing/proposal and case development, corporate and foundation relations, and communications roles with the Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation in New Jersey, Mount Sinai Health System in New York City, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, and Boston University. She earned a BA in English from Boston College and a MS in Print Journalism from Boston University, and lives in Milton, MA with her husband and two children.

Past Presidents of Women in Development of Greater Boston

“In the summer of 1980, nine women who worked in development positions in colleges and universities in the Boston area met to consider holding occasional informal meetings with their peers. It was a casual meeting, and discussion centered on identifying the issues facing the growing number of women in fundraising. There was no clear focus, but the need for support from other women in a field then dominated by men was evident.” Excerpt from “Women in Development of Greater Boston: The evolution of an organization” by Phyllis Fanger. Women as Fundraisers: Their experience in and Influence on an Emerging Profession. Indian University Center on Philanthropy. Number 19, Spring 1998. From these modest beginnings arose the amazing organization we now know as Women in Development of Greater Boston. In celebration of our 35th anniversary in 2015, we salute our leadership, including founding president, Phyllis Fanger.

President Term President Term
Phyllis Fanger 1982-1984 Janet Miner 2000-2002
Ann Caldwell 1984-1986 Kristine C. Laping 2002-2004
Susan Galler 1986-1988 Betsy Kamborian 2004-2006
Lola Baldwin 1988-1990 Ilisa Hurowitz 2006-2008
Susan Paresky 1990-1992 Terri (Hootstein) Grogan 2008-2010
Catherine Conover 1992-1994 Usha Pasi 2010-2012
Carol Bonnar, CFRE 1994-1996 Megan Panek 2012-2013
Mary Jane McGlennon 1996-1998 Heather Kispert Hagerty 2013-2015
Catherine Baer 1998-1999 Meghan Seidman 2015-2017
Anne Cowie 1999-2000

Andrea Finnerty

Kellen Epstein